New and Notable


If you are having difficulty access our databases from home, please check our Troubleshooting Guide for possible solutions. You may also contact our webmaster if problems persists (please be sure to indicate which database you are attempting to search in your email).
BIOGRAPHY & GENEALOGY

Ancestry Library (Library Access Only)
Information on people and places described in over 25,000 family and local histories. Includes US Federal Census Records from 1790-1930.

Biography and Genealogy Master Index
An index of current, easily accessible references sources, as well as important retrospective works that cover individuals, both living and deceased, from every field of activity and from all areas of the world.

Biography Resource Center
More than 432,000 biographies on more than 340,000 people.

Heritage Quest
Research resource for family history and American culture includes U.S. federal census records and the UMI Genealogy and Local History collection.

BOOKS & LITERATURE

Bloom’s Literary Reference Online
Features hundreds of essays examining the lives and works of great writers throughout history, as well as thousands of critical articles by noted scholars.

NoveList
A fiction database that provides subject heading access, reviews, annotations, and much more for over 120,000 fiction titles. It also includes other content of interest to fiction readers, such as Author Read-alikes, Book Discussion Guides, Book Talks, and Feature Articles.

What Do I Read Next?
Contains over 115,000 titles, more than 62,500 plot summaries, 561 awards titles, recommended reading lists and biographical information.

BUSINESS & FINANCE

Business & Company Resource Center
Company profiles, industry rankings, products and brands, stock prices, investment reports, industry statistics.

Reference USA
Detailed information on more than 12 million U.S. businesses; 102 million U.S. residents; 683,000 U.S. health care providers; and 1.3 million Canadian businesses.

CAREER

Job Now
Includes Career Resources such as personality and career assessments, resume building tools, and interview coaching.

Job Search & Workplace Skills Learning Center
Use this resource to strengthen your job search, interviewing, and networking skills. Find tips on business writing and learn how to craft the resume that will get you hired.

Learn A Test
Online practice tests for academic, civil service and vocational exams.

GENERAL RESOURCES

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Search 50 online reference books on a variety of topics.

General Reference Gold
General interest and business periodicals.  

Educator's Reference Complete
Full-text periodicals for teachers, school administrators, school media specialists and librarians.

Power Search
Not sure which database is best for you? Use Power Search to search multiple databases at once.

HEALTH

Health & Wellness Resource Center
Medical information for health professionals and general readers.

Magill's Medical Guide
A compendium of medical information suitable for student research as well as use by general readers, including patients and caregivers. 
Click here to connect from home

HISTORY

American History in Video
The largest and richest collection of video available online for the study of American history, with 2,000 hours and more than 5,000 titles. Includes documentaries from The History Channel and PBS.

History Resource Center: U.S.
Provides integrated access to over 4,000 historical (primary) documents, articles from more than 30 reference titles, and over 110 full-text journal covering themes, events, individuals and periods in U.S. history from pre-Colonial times to the present.

History Resource Center: World
A comprehensive online collection of full-text periodicals, reference works and primary source documents covering world history topics from pre-antiquity up to the present.

Milestone Documents in American History
Full-text primary source documents with expert analysis and commentary.
Click here to connect from home

LANGUAGES

Informe! (Revistas en Español)
Full-text Spanish-language and bilingual periodicals.

Mango Languages
A unique way to learn a foreign language at your own pace, using a comprehensive teaching approach that actively engages audio and visual cues to assist in language retention

LEGAL

Legal Trac
Drawing on a wide variety of the most highly regarded legal publications, Legal Trac provides indexing for approximately 875 titles including major law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals and international legal journals. Each title is selected on the basis of criteria provided by a special advisory committee of the American Association of Law Libraries.

NEWSPAPERS

America's Newspapers
Search current and archived coverage of issues, events, people, government, sports and more with the largest collection of full-text U.S. newspapers. Includes staff-written articles, obituaries, editorials, announcements, real estate and other sections.

Associated Press Photo Archive
The AccuNet/Multimedia Archive contains approximately 750,000 photos and is growing with hundreds of new photos entering the database each day. The Multimedia Archive includes graphics, text, and audio.

Christian Science Monitor
Full-text coverage from 1988 to the present

Hamden Journal
Full text from 3/2/2000 - 03/27/2008

Hartford Courant
Full-text coverage from 1992 to the present

Hartford Courant Historical
This archive includes over 280,000 pages of text from 1764 through 1922

London Times
Full-text coverage from Jul 1, 1985 - present

New Haven Register
The full text of the New Haven Register from 1988-present.

New York Times
Full text coverage from 1980 to the present

New York Times Historical
The full text of the New York Times from 1851-2005. (Select Historical New York Times from database drop down menu)

iCONN Newsstand
Full-text coverage of newpapers from around the world; major papers include the Christian Science Monitor, London Times, New York Times

SCIENCE

Forensic Science
A comprehensive reference source on the theory, techniques, and applications of the various forensic sciences.
Click here to connect from home

Science Resource Center
Provides articles from scientific reference books, magazines, journals, biographies and images. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, physics, technology, and wildlife.

TEST PREP

Learn A Test
Online practice tests for academic, civil service and vocational exams.